More Than We Can Handle, Not He

I’m pregnant. I’m tired. I have all-day sickness.
I have the flu. I have small children. I have mountains of laundry.
I hurt my back. I can’t stand up, sit down, or lie down. I’m hobbling like an old woman.

This isn’t a pity party or a diatribe on the evils of illness and injury and physical inconvenience. Rather this is a reminder, a note to self for future reference and remembering…God most certainly does give us more than we can handle. Why? Because it forces a decision of the heart. Where do I flee when the weight of my choices, my actions, my environment, or even my frail faith are a mountain upon me; waves engulfing me and stealing my breath? Indeed, where do I turn? Do I turn inward? Do I turn to others? Both are poor choices for a multitude of reasons. We as believers in the Almighty power of Jesus Christ have no excuse to run anywhere but to the Source of life, the Mover of mountains, the Calmer of raging seas and gusting winds. Any other choice is a betrayal of the love He has born unto us. So where do I flee?

Psalm 121
I will lift my eyes to the mountains;
From where shall my help come?
My help comes from the Lord,
Who made heaven and earth.
He will not allow your foot to slip,
He who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, He who keeps Israel
Will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord is your keeper;
The Lord is your shade on your right hand.
The sun will not smite you by day,
Nor the moon by night.
The Lord will protect you from all evil;
He will keep your soul.
The Lord will guard your going out and your coming in
From this time forth and forever.

Make this the prayer of my heart, sweet Jesus. Amen.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Leave a Reply

