Kitchen Tip Tuesday: Storing and Freezing Bacon

We like bacon…maybe love bacon. But, in an effort to be a smidge more healthful we try to limit our consumption of our favorite salty, crispy breakfast meat. Last time we visited my grandparents, my grandfather showed off his latest, greatest culinary feat (boy, he is getting handy in the kitchen!). He showed me their stash of ready-to-go freezer bacon and I loved it! So, when our favorite brand of bacon went on sale recently, I stocked up and got to work.I started by prepping a large baking sheet with a very light coat of non-stick spray. I then took each individual piece of bacon and wrapped it around two of my fingers, forming a cutie little swirl. I then placed the swirls on the baking sheet, being careful to place them close together but not touching.

Once the sheet was full, I placed it in the freezer for about an hour. Then I placed the swirls in a freezer bag and–voila! I have 3 pounds of bacon prepared in individual portion sizes. Now, when we want a little taste of bacon but don’t want to overdo it, we simply remove however many swirls we want and enjoy!
Thanks to Tammy for hosting Kitchen Tip Tuesdays! And thanks to PaPa for the great idea!
About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

5 responses to “Kitchen Tip Tuesday: Storing and Freezing Bacon

Leave a Reply

