Summer

Three weeks left.  That’s it.  Then it’s back to school, back to bedtimes, packing lunches, endless trips to and fro in the mini-van, homework, projects that cover the dining room table, permission slips, soccer practice, piano lessons, routines.  To borrow a phrase from Mrs. Pear, when it’s quiet here on my blog, you can be sure that it is quiet no where else in my life!  That has been true this summer…

Our children have been at odds with one another off and on these past few months.  Though that may be typical in many families, here it is something out of the ordinary.  In general, they are an easy-going, loving, kind brood.  But, trouble has been brewing and the pecking order has been challenged many a summer afternoon.  Our toddler throws tantrums, our preschooler gets lippy, and our school girls make each other cry.  We’ve all had many opportunities to refine our skills at making apologies and extending forgiveness to one another.

We’ve been gardening.  God has blessed our efforts with an abundant crop!  Thus far we have harvested:  30 gallon bags of lettuce, 1 gallon bag of peas (after they were shelled:), 57 yellow squash, radishes, carrots, 30 green peppers, over 100 hot peppers, strawberries, 10 cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, and–tonight–2 beefsteak tomatoes.  Still to come are the eggplant, more peppers–both bell and hot, tomatoes (21 plants loaded with fruit), more cucumbers, pole beans, bush beans, yellow onions, and red potatoes.  God is faithful and has supplied enough for our family and to share with others.  It’s been fun to give out of His abundance!

I started another blog for the women in our church.  It’s where a lot of my writing time has been spent….not writing, but editing, designing, coordinating.  Many, many hours.  But, it is up and running and now the Lord is at work knitting the women in our church body closer together.

Correcting.  That’s how I would classify my quiet time this summer.  God is in the process of correcting me.  My way of thinking about certain things. My attitudes, my behavior, my approach.  Not the mountain-top experiences we all like to glory in, but necessary at this stage in my walk and I’m becoming thankful for God’s gentle but persistent correction and reproof.

Lord, thank You for this summer and the remaining weeks we have before the start of our Fall routine.  Thank You for all the ways You have been with us–with me.  Thank You for taking care of me and teaching me.  Thank You for loving me.  Thank You even for the words to express my thoughts to You.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Leave a Reply

