She called and offered us the fruit from her tree, free save from the effort of picking.  Boy and I arrived, sacks and bowls and baskets in hand, unsure of what to expect.  As we pulled up the long drive, we could see the tree, her branches heavy laden with fruit. Some of the limbs seemed about to break from the weight of the gifts offered by this little tree.  Our friend showed us how to pick, where to pick, what to look for.  Boy entertained himself pulling pears from the lowest branches.  We quickly filled our vessels and enjoyed visiting with our friend and sister in Christ.  As we walked back to the car, it was difficult to tell that we had harvested anything at all from the prolific pear producing tree. 

As we drove home, I thought about the abundant harvest provided by this one simple tree.  How it never struggled or strained to produce pears…it just grew, bloomed and yielded where it was planted.  It didn’t move itself closer to a water source, didn’t look for a sunnier piece of land or for other trees like it.  It just did what it was designed to do.  And for eleven months of the year, the tree only produces shade and blossoms. 

But it yields a harvest.  An abundant harvest.  Enough harvest to nourish and bless several families, ours included.  All because it just does what it has been designed to do.

Do I do that?  Am I producing the fruit I have been designed to bear?  Am I satisfied with what God has intended for me?  Am I making myself completely available for the purposes of Christ?

Or am I holding back?  Am I striving for things, seeking relationships, chasing after goals that God never really intended for me?  Am I content–really, truly content to let the Lord choose for me? 

I have work to do in this area.  The sort of work that happens on my knees, in surrender, offering my every thought, my every breath back to the One who gifted them to me in the first place.  I want to be like that pear tree…heavy-laden and about to break with fruit.  I want to be able to offer an abundant harvest for the benefit of others. 

Thank You, Lord, for the many wonderful pictures You have given to us in nature.  Thank You for the pears.  Thank You for the body of Christ.  Help me to be more yielding, more willing to be made willing.  Help me to bear the fruit that You have planned for me to bear.  Help me to be content.  Renew me and make me more like You.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Leave a Reply

