Singing Servant–View from the Pew

(I write for another blog, so if you read there as well, this will look familiar.  Skip this post and rejoin me for the next one!)

We were late to worship this morning. I could blame it on a number of things, but it wouldn’t change the outcome. We roared down the gravel driveway at 9:58 AM and rushed into church. I dropped off the girls while Charlie settled our boy into his class. By the time we reached the sanctuary, everyone was already seated and on song #2–we were officially tardy and there was no hope of finding seats unnoticed. Charlie was asked to help serve communion, so he had to linger in the back. I tried to quietly scope out two seats that wouldn’t be terribly disruptive to climb into…no luck. Every seat I noticed was land-locked, so-to-speak, so I hung in the back for a moment. Thankfully, a few of the men broke out extra chairs and formed new rows for the half dozen of us who had arrived late. I sat down and began to enjoy worship.
Usually when we sit near the back, worship feels a little quieter because there are fewer people singing behind us. This morning, it was different. The back of the sanctuary was lined with a dozen or so men waiting to serve communion. There were singing beautifully, filling in the typically quiet space. I appreciated their offering and how it rounded out my own personal worship experience.
Later in the day I started thinking again about those men and their singing. I started thinking about how they had been asked to serve, were waiting to serve, wanting to serve…and while they waited, they worshipped. It wasn’t distracting, didn’t draw attention away from the Lord, but they sang to the One they were about to serve. It made me think about my own servanthood: Do I sing as I serve?
 
It’s a good question for me, personally. I have come to understand that I have the gift of helps. I like to be helpful, meet needs, be available. But do I worship as I serve? When I am waiting to give, meet needs, help–do I sing to the One I am about to serve?
I don’t think that I always do that. But I want to. I want to remember to worship and offer praise before and as I am serving. I want to remember that serving is less important than the One I serve.
 
This will help:
Make a joyful shout to the Lord all ye land
Serve the Lord with gladness, come before His presence with singing.
I know that the Lord, He is God;
It is He who has made us, and not we ourselves;
We are His people and the sheep of His pasture.
 
Enter into His gates with thanksgiving,
And into His gates with praise.
Be thankful to Him, and bless His name.
For the Lord is good; His mercy is everlasting,
And His truth endures to all generations.
Psalm 100
About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

2 responses to “Singing Servant–View from the Pew

  • Nina

    Glad to read this Jen! I love a different perspective – one from the “pew”. Today up front, it was very loud and I couldn’t hear the people singing. Most times – you can hear people sing and that is when I back up away from the microphone and sing with them as one voice. When that happens it makes me smile. I think it would make God smile too.

    Men sometimes have a hard time singing loudly or should I say full of meaning and intention. When they are free to do that – or when they feel free to do that – that is fantastic.

    Thanks Jen!

  • Heidi

    Thanks Jen! I often have to remind myself to just be a servant ~ I am printing this one for my fridge this week!

Leave a Reply

