Not of Our Understanding

  Part 1 of the devotional I wrote…offered in humility…

Not of Our Understanding

For this reason we also, since the day we heard it, do not cease to pray for you, and to ask that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding; that you may walk worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing Him, being fruitful in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God; Colossians 1:9-10

The first time I sat under our pastor’s teaching in a home fellowship Bible study, I felt prepared. We were studying the book of Romans and I had taken a college course on that very book. I received an “A” and my professor submitted one of my papers to a journal that published undergraduate work. I felt like someone “in the know.” I was so very wrong. While I had grasped the basic format of the book, had memorized several key passages and understood the historical context, I had never considered asking the Holy Spirit to guide me in my understanding. I was trying to get a good grade…I wasn’t praying for spiritual understanding.

Sometimes we do that in our walk with Jesus. We approach our walk with Him from our own perspective, with our minds fixed on what we can conceive, comprehend and know. If we can’t imagine it, it isn’t possible. It’s so important, Friend, that we ask God to increase our spiritual understanding! So much of God’s kingdom is built on principles that do not make sense in our present world. Spiritual understanding is a key to bearing spiritual fruit.

God wants us to understand Him! God has had a plan for our lives and a way for us to know Him. He is always willing, always wanting, always reaching for us. He wants us to gain spiritual understanding. He wants us to have His perspective. He wants us to have the mind of Christ. Though there are of course mysteries in life that God is not going to explain (this side of heaven), God wants us to know Him and His character.

Are you struggling, Friend, with your own understanding? Are you stuck at the end of what you know, uncertain of where to go? Ask God to fill you with the Holy Spirit, that you may be filled with the knowledge of His will in all wisdom and spiritual understanding.

Father God, thank You for reaching out to me. Thank You for wanting me to understand You. Fill me with Your Holy Spirit. Grant me spiritual understanding and help me to live in grace with that understanding. I want to know You. I want to understand You. I want You. In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Leave a Reply

