Writing Prompt–“Before”

As part of our monthly meeting, we writers were asked to write with a prompt.  Write a list of things marked “before.”  Before…kids, marriage, Jesus, kindergarten, breakfast…everyone’s list was different, I’m sure.  After we compiled our lists, we then had to choose one “before” and write a series of sentences that begant with “I remember.”  Next, we choose an “I remember” and wrote more “I remembers.”  It was a good exercise–got me out of my comfort zone a bit…

the end is changed just a bit for you, Steve–thanks for the feedback:)

Before my first fight with my husband,

I remember thinking we would never, ever fight.

I remember thinking he was as close to perfect as you could get.

I remember being excited when he walked through the door every night.

I remember wanting to bless him.

I remember that they way he looked at me took my breath away…

I also remember feeling frustrated.

I remember feeling overly emotional.

I remember thinking he didn’t understand me.

I remember wondering who this person was that I had married anyway.
I remember feeling sweaty.

I remember feeling hot.

I remember thinking that my patience had run dry.

I remember losing my temper.

I remember saying angry, hurtful things.

I remember not listening.

I remember feeling justified.

I remember being RIGHT.

I remember rolling my eyes at him.

I remember walking away.

I remember walking for awhile.

I remember the biting, cold wind.

I remember the moon high in the sky.

I remember the stray dog that distracted me.

(I don’t remember the patch of ice.)

I remember realizing I had fallen.

I remember lying on the ground, looking up and the world being so still.

I remember the sound of my own breathing.

I remember limping home.

I remember trying to find the courage to open the door.

I remember my heavy heart, hand on the doorknob.

And I will never, ever forget him opening the door and embracing me with love and forgiveness.

I remember.

I remember the sound of my own breathing.

I remember it catching in my throat, that awful feeling of having the wind sucked out of my lungs.

I remember thinking, “in. now, out…” trying to get the rhythmn back.

I remember hearing my breaths in my head, racing with my pulse to catch up, keep up.

I remember how the cold air stung and hurt and brought me back to reality.

I remember seeing my breath in the air.

I remember my breath vapor hovering over me like a cloud.

I remember swallowing hard and thinking.

I remember knowing I was wrong.

I remember feeling very, very small.

I remember that I kept breathing, kept living.

I remember getting up.

I remember my ankle swelling.

I remember each step being laborious.

I remember my breathing turning to panting and sweat pouring off my brow.

I remember standing on the steps of our house, heaving, trying to control my diaphragm.

I remember putting my hand on my heart, willing it to slow down.

I remember taking a deep breath as I prepared to open the door and eat crow.

I remember when he opened the door, the look of love and forgiveness written across his face

…that once again my breath was taken away.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

2 responses to “Writing Prompt–“Before”

  • Kelly Stanley

    WOW. I compiled a ragged list of random memories tonight and you expressed an amazing amount of meaningful material. I sit here in awe. You have a gift, a special way of seeing and communicating. Again, I say WOW. This is remarkably lovely.

  • Nina

    So nice of a memory compiled with so many remembered details. Memories of feelings and emotions…to find the wrongs and encounter the one right…love. Beautiful Jen – I am happy you stepped out of your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

