Memory Lane

Saturday, I’m privileged to be participating in a “Beautiful You” conference for high school girls.  I’ll be sharing my testimony in front of…well, I don’t know exactly how many people…something like 300 (!)

Anyway, we were asked to find pictures of ourselves to attach to our nametags…pictures of us from high school.  Yikes…  I wasn’t sure I had any photos of that time frame, so I began rummaging around this week. I started in the attic and found the box that holds all the photos from our early days of parenting.  Me with the giant belly, Hubs sleeping on the couch with our firstborn, our firstborn holding our second born…  Pictures of our old dog, our old couch, the wallpaper on the walls, our old truck, our backyard without a fence or garden…

I moved on to our bedroom closet and found a stash of photos from our newly married days…our first apartment, our first anniversary, our first Christmas tree (that died and had to be thrown out before Christmas)…  Our first dinner guests, our garage sale furniture, lamps and rugs…

I finally found all of my college and high school memorabilia out in the garage.  I laughed until I cried at some of the pictures and things I have saved!  Play bills from high school productions, choir awards, band ribbons, my old flute, my cheerleading outfit from middle school (including shoes!), my yearbooks.  The yearbooks were particularly hilarious because I took time to read the inscriptions.  Under several of the girls’ messages was written “I love NKOTB!”  It took me forever to figure that one out….I love New Kids On The Block!  Wow…talk about a blast from the past:)

It was fun to take a trip down memory lane.  A good reminder that I have lived…and have been so blessed to know some very special people along the way.  People who have made me laugh, held my hand while I’ve cried, made me a better wife, mother, friend, daughter, sister…child of God.  It was also good to see that I’m not the same person I was at any of those stages life (thank You, God, for that!).  I’ve changed and grown–hopefully for the better!  Still, it was good to go back and remember God’s faithfulness to me all these years…

It’s easy to get caught up in the mundane issues of everyday living…paying bills, laundry, cooking, chauffering kids, school, work, errands…even ministry.  I can forget that these moments, these people, these experiences all string together into a beautiful tapastry…my LIFE…and it is a gift, God’s blessing to me.

Thank You, God, for helping me remember…making me laugh, reminding me of Your goodness and gifts, giving me beautiful people to journey with.  Thank You for Your faithfulness to me.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Comments are disabled.

