Every Day

Ok, so Gypsy Mama hosts a 5 minute writing prompt every week.  Eh, why not?  I (finally) think of myself as a writer, so let’s give this a whirl.  Here’s her description:

I like chocolate. I like words.

And I never tell my chocolate what’s wrong with it, how it could have been improved, and how disappointed I am in it before I eat it.

I. Just. Eat. It.

That’s what we do around here on Fridays. We eat words. Straight up. Without second guessing, editing, or criticizing them. We simply savor all their deliciousness. For a full five minutes. You should try it. It’s a calorie-rich experience sans calories.

Wanna just write? Without wondering if it’s just right?

  1. Indulge in five rich, delicious minutes of pure writing.
  2. Tell your readers you’re linking up here and invite them to dig in too.
  3. And most importantly, go visit, read, and compliment the five minute chef who served something up right before you.

Easy peasy.

Oh and there’s always a little fun something-something in it for one five minute artist. Last week I got to give away the My Beloved Photo Frame to random winner All My Monkeys.

This week the beautiful God Gives Every Day a Beauty of its Own Tote  by DaySpring is up for grabs.

OK, are you ready? Give me your best five minutes for the prompt:

Every Day…

Here we go…

Every day, I think of about 20 things I could write about.  Something cute one of my kids said…something I saw someone do or heard someone say…some little nugget I hear on the radio…something from my quiet time.

But every day, I also think of 200 reasons why I shouldn’t write about those things.  Will it offend?  What if I can’t find just the right words?  What if I sound ridiculous?  Is this really how I should be spending my time?

Excuses.

Yeah, sometimes what God is showing me is just for me.  Sometimes it’s too deeply personal to share with all my bff’s on the world-wide web.  Mostly, though, I think He’s telling me, showing me these truths so they can be shared.  I just talk myself out of it, thinking that my little “aha’s” aren’t worthy of blog space or my readers’ time.  Every day the excuses win.

Except the last 3 days (though this post is getting in just under the wire!)  I’m leaping in faith and sharing what God is showing me and teaching me.  Maybe it’s ministering to someone.  Maybe it’s changing someone’s heart or thoughts.  Or, maybe (and this is more likely the case), maybe it’s changing me.  For every day I choose to walk in obedience…use this wonder of a gift…I have another opportunity to see the Lord at work in my heart.  And that changes a person.

And I want that.

Every day.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Comments are disabled.

