Helpful Homeschooling and Learning Links

This is our sixth year of educating our kids at home and while I would never consider myself an expert, I have come across a few websites that have helpful information and/or games.  I always appreciate it when others share what’s working for them…that’s probably the way I found most of these sites!  So to the homeschool mama or the mama who just wants to help her kids learn better, here we go!

1.  VARK    As part of their Fall assessments, the online school we are using this year asked the kids to complete a VARK questionnaire.  While I don’t know a lot about the founder of this system, the questionnaire portion of the website has been so helpful to us.  Our youngest school-aged daughter seemed so bored with her studies.  We discovered that she scored high in the kinesthetic area of this quiz.  Basically, she likes more hand-on learning experiences.  Incorporating more activities that involve puzzles, alphabet tiles, and math counters has helped get her more engaged in the learning process.

2.  Orisinal:  Morning Sunshine  Sometime, you just need something to occupy one of your kids for a few minutes while you work with another child.  Our kids can earn time to play on the computer and this is one of their favorite places to spend that time.  All the games are clean and the music is just lovely.  There are about 60 games to choose from…my favorites are the cats and the train:)

3.  Free Rice   Free Rice is a site with a LOT of great learning quizzes.  For ever correct answer, 10 grains of rice are donated to the World Food Programme to help end hunger.  Our kids LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this site!!!  I challenged them to earn 10,000 grains of rice each and they are nearly halfway there:)  They especially love the foreign language quizzes.

4.  Math Blaster  Organized by both grade level and skill, Math Blaster has helped my kids hone their skills in an area that might have been tricky for them.  They also offer worksheets you can print for extra help.

5.  Home Spelling Words  I used this last year instead of ordering spelling workbooks.  It worked beautifully.  I also appreciated that I could customize the lists, incorporating words from the books they were currently reading.

6.  Homeschooling Methods  One of the biggest choices we faced when we began teaching our own children was concerning the method we would employ.  This site gives a decent overview of the variety of methods without trying to sell the reader on a particular path.  We chose a “classical” method, but have adapted to a much more fly by the seat of your pants “eclectic” method as we have come to understand our children as learners and ourselves as teachers.  At any rate, this is a nice, compact way to learn about a variety of homeschooling options.

7.  Just Good Reading  There are tons and tons of great books out there.  Tons.  This is a good little post about great classic children’s books.  I could compile my own, but why? 🙂   As a side note, I also really love a lot of things about Passionate Homemaking’s blog…great ideas about simplified homekeeping.

I’m sure there are more great sites out there…what are your favorites?  I’d love to hear about them!

 

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Comments are disabled.

