Remember

I was at home, dressed and ready for work, but resting my weary pregnant body on the couch.  I was flipping through the TV stations when Katie Couric said something about planes flying into buildings.  I don’t remember many details about the rest of that day, but I do remember rubbing my belly all day, wondering what kind of world my baby was about to be born into.

The fears of that day have long subsided, but I haven’t forgotten the effect they had on me…on so many others.  I haven’t forgotten how bonded I felt to total strangers, just because we were all Americans.  I haven’t forgotten how good it was to hear Hubs’ voice on the phone that day, or how good it felt to feel his strong arms around me that night.  I haven’t forgotten how fervent the prayers were the next Sunday, or the hundreds of flags hung on houses, in stores, from vehicles.  I haven’t forgotten how faithful God was to calm my fears and how His name was invoked by so many.  I haven’t forgotten.

This morning, I took our girls and a friend to see the 9-11 lawn memorial at our nearby college.  I was moved to tears as I told them about the plane crashing into a field in Pennsylvania and the bravery of the people onboard.  The girls walked around the flags so quietly and reverently, stopping to read the story of a young woman who worked in one of the towers.  They asked a few questions, but mostly looked.  On the way home, I caught snippets of the two oldest girls talking about mission work and wondering aloud if it would have mattered if someone had explained who Jesus is to the terrorists.  I love that they were so sure that it would have mattered.  I love that it was the first thing they thought of.  I love them.

Today, we all remember…the grace of God, the Love that drives out fear, the sacrifice of Jesus.  We remember.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jen

Welcome, friend. I'm so glad you are here. Join our family as we go and see all that God has for us in this season, trusting and believing in His goodness, His faithfulness, and His great love for us all. View all posts by Jen

Leave a Reply

